Member - Island East Tourism Group
Community: Milltown Cross
St. Paul's was designed by the renowned Island architect William Critchlow Harris and is Harris' first Church of French Gothic design. The church is built out of Island sandstone and Nova Scotia granite. The Island sandstone was quaried in the area and hauled to the site by the joint effort of Catholics and Protestants. The grey Nova Scotia granite was transported to the Island by boat. A unique aspect of this church is that the size of the block diminishes with the height of the walls. The spire towers two hundred feet high. A large iron cross, made by parishoner Mick McCarron in his forge, was placed on top of the spire, however the cross was removed in 1970 and now stands in the church cemetery. The cemetery is located approximately three-quarters of a mile south of the church. Construction began in 1873 and was completed in 1888. A date can be found above the front entrance to the church.
© 2017 Island East Tourism Group, All Rights Reserved