For outdoor and adventure lovers, the Morell River is considered a "must" for sport fishing, canoeing and kayaking. This is the Island’s foremost Atlantic Salmon river. For cyclists and hikers, the stretch of the Confederation Trail winding along the shoreline between Morell and St. Peters is considered by many the most picturesque on PEI.
PEI's original capital, this small community continues to thrive as a business centre. It features a supermarket, liquor store, library, pharmacy, gym, gas station & garage, banks, churches, a park and more. Within minutes of casual to five star dining, B&Bs; to Executive cottages at a Five Star Resort, Morell has it all.
The name Morell was adopted in Place Names of PEI in 1925. It was incorporated as a Village in 1953 and changed to Community in 1983. The name commemorates Jean Francois Morel's family. Morel, a native of St. Malo, was born in 1697.
© 2017 Island East Tourism Group, All Rights Reserved